Academic Standards

  • The Minnesota Department of Education is responsible for ensuring that Minnesota students receive instruction in the K-12 Minnesota Academic Standards. The state legislature enacts these standards, which the governor signs into law. Curriculum decisions in Chisago Lakes Schools are made based on the MDE Academic Standards K-12. Using the links below, users can access copies of the standards for each required subject area.

Art Standards

  • The 2008 Minnesota K-12 Academic Standards in the Arts were revised during the 2017-18 school year, and are currently going through the rulemaking process. The date by which all schools must implement the 2018 arts standards is the 2021-22 school year. The next arts standards review will happen during the 2027-28 school year. 

PE and Health Standards


    2018 Minnesota Academic Standards in Physical Education
    The Minnesota Department of Education released the official 2018 Minnesota K-12 Academic Standards in Physical Education document on February 1, 2018. The standards are to be fully implemented in all Minnesota school districts by the 2021-22 school year.

    Physical Education Standards
    PDF Document - 840 kb


    Minnesota Academic Standards in Health Education

    All school districts in Minnesota are required to identify standards, benchmarks, curriculum and assessments in health education. All students must receive instruction in health education K-8, or by district-determined grade bands. High school students must receive instruction in health education at least once. The Minnesota Department of Education recommends that districts use the National Health Education Standards (NHES).

Language Arts

  • The study of Language Arts prepares students to share ideas, feelings, and information in various ways. Effective communication techniques taught in Language Arts courses teach students to send and receive information in a clear, thoughtful manner, and to use related knowledge and contexts to synthesize information into meaningful messages. The Academic Standards in Language Arts include reading and literature; writing; and listening, speaking and viewing.

    English Language Arts (ELA) Standards Review Committee Selected

    The Minnesota Department of Education is pleased to announce the formation of the 2019-20 Minnesota K-12 ELA Education Standards Committee. As required by state law, this committee will review the current (2010) K-12 ELA standards during the 2019-20 school year. For more information, visit the ELA webpage

    Language Arts Standards
    PDF Document - 329kb

Math Standards

  • The Minnesota K-12 Academic Standards in Mathematics define a common foundation of mathematics to be learned by all students. They articulate concepts in reasoning; number sense, computation, and operations; patterns, functions, and algebra; data analysis, statistics, and probability; and spatial sense, geometry, and measurement.

    The mathematics standards were revised in 2007, with full implementation by the 2010-11 school year. Though the math standards were scheduled to be reviewed again during the 2015-16 school year, the review has been postponed. As passed in the spring 2015 first special legislative session, according to Chapter 3, H.F. 1, the math standards review has been postponed until 2021-22. Find the math standards documents below.

    Math Standards
    PDF Document - 985kb

Science Standards

  • Science is the active study of nature, its structures, and its processes. Science students use their senses and tools to observe, record and analyze data about the natural world. Scientifically literate young people can understand phenomena, solve problems, and produce new technologies for today's world. The K-12 Minnesota Academic Standards for Science are categorized into four areas: history and nature of science; earth and space science; physical science; and life science.

    Science Education Standards Review Process – Committee's Recommended Draft to Commissioner Now Available!

    The recommended draft of the 2019 Minnesota K-12 Science Education Standards is now available. The date by which all schools must implement the new standards will be determined during the rulemaking process. For more information, visit the Science Education Standards page.

    Science Standards
    PDF Document - 1mb

Social Studies Standards

  • Social Studies is the study of history, humanities, and the social sciences. The purpose of studying these disciplines is to prepare young people to become responsible citizens and develop social understanding. Social studies standards and curriculum build four capacities in young people: disciplinary knowledge, disciplinary skills, commitment to democratic values, and citizen participation. The K-12 Minnesota Academic Standards in History and Social Studies define a common foundation of knowledge and skills in United States history, world history, Minnesota history, geography, economics, and government and citizenship.

    As required by state law, the 2010 Minnesota K-12 Academic Social Studies Standards are being reviewed and revised during the 2020-21 school year.

    Social Studies Standards
    PDF Document - 3mb

World Languages Standards

  • There are no state standards for world languages in Minnesota, but school districts are required to develop their own standards. Minnesota world language standards are locally developed but must be based on the most recent ACTFL world language standards. The Minnesota Department of Education provides a model that districts can use to develop local world language standards. School districts must use a locally selected assessment to determine if students have achieved standards in world languages.